Dear visitor,

Welcome to the web site of the Servais Society.

The Belgian cellist-composer François Servais (1807-1866) toured all over Europe. As one of the most important nineteenth-century cellist-composers, Servais contributed to the development of cello technique, and to the cello’s ‘emancipation’ as a solo instrument in its own right.

Today, his music is alive and kicking: his compositions are being studied, performed or listened, throughout the world.

Enjoy your visit!

The Servais Society


  • Bring Rossini’s bust back to Halle! -
    In 1865 Cyprien Godebski made a superb bust of Rossini. With your support this bust could return to Halle. Check
  • 16-19 April 2020: Cello Masterclasses ‘Servais’ -
    From now on you can subscribe for the fourth ‘Four days with Servais’ in Halle. More info
  • November 23: 22th Servais Concert -
    The Japanese cellist Yutaka Hayashi regularly plays the compositions of Servais. He is also preparing a CD dedicated to Servais. In Halle he will play pieces by Servais and by other members of the Belgian School of Cello Playing. More info

More news


  • Cd Fantaisie de Servais -
    After 10 years Yutaka Hayashi has become a natural at Servais’ music and it was time for a cd. That cd contains no less than six compositions by Servais: four of his best known pieces – Souvenir de Spa, Le Carnaval de Venise, La Romanesca and La Fille du Régiment – and two duos on Der Freischütz and La Traviata. ...
  • Dvd Leven in Villa Servais -
    The Villa Servais means something in Halle. Not only because of its dominant position nearby the Halle city center, but above all because of the special history of the building. It was the place where the famous cellist Servais lived with his family since 1847 and received his international friends. During the second world war it provided accommodation to German ...
  • Cd: Duo ForteCello -
    On 1 June 2018 the cd ‘Soul of Nations’ made by the French-Polish duo ForteCello was presented. That cd also contains a composition by Servais. The duo ForteCello – Philippe Argenty and Anna Mikulska – travels all over Europe with the program ‘Soul of Nations’. Each composition is inspired by a specific country – just as the Spanish Suite by ...
  • The Belgian School of Cello Playing -
    Since the nineteenth century, Belgium has produced many cellists that have made themselves heard worldwide. The most famous one is François Servais, the ‘Paganini of the Cello’. But there are many other cellists who have also helped shape what came to be known as the ‘Belgian School of Cello Playing’. More info
  • CD: Duo Ardente plays Servais -
    Duo Ardente – Aleksandra Lelek (cello) & Maciej Zimka (accordion) plays Servais’ Fantaisie sur deux Airs russes opus 13 on their debut CD. The piece has been released on CD for the first time. Here in a transcription for cello and accordion, which makes sense. The CD also contains works by Sofija Gubajdulina (In Croce), Zbigniew Bargielski (Labyrint) and Astor ...

More publications